Swirls of Life

Life is a swirl…

Why I Quit My First Job

on January 22, 2016

Quitting My JobFor those of you who don’t know, I started working at a local hair salon about a month ago. Today I called the owner and told her I was resigning from my position. Why you ask? The whole thing was shady from the beginning when I had the interview. She didn’t even ask to see my resume and practically handed me the position after maybe 10 minutes of talking. I was scheduled to have a trail run the next Thursday, but when I called her as I was getting into the car she said she wasn’t at the salon (get this – she was hanging out with a friend) so we agreed that I would start working the following day.
 
When I got there the other hair stylists had no idea who I was or why I was there. On top of that one of them only spoke French so I had to get someone else to translate and ended up having to call the owner to explain the situation. After that was all settled, I unpacked my supplies and set up my station. Traffic there is extremely slow and since I was getting paid commission instead of salary if I don’t get any clients then I don’t get paid. On top of that, their specialty was braiding which isn’t one of my strengths.

I had a few clients here and there, but not nearly as many as when I was in cosmetology school. For the most part it was a waste of time. One time I didn’t have any clients for about a week. I called the owner earlier today and explained to her why I was leaving. Surprisingly, she was really understanding and said she would call me when it gets busier. I know she was trying to market the salon, but I didn’t have time to sit there waiting for business to pick up when I could have more time to do more important things like practicing for the state board exam.

Leave a Reply

